In the Men’s Room


“In the Men’s Room” is the third volume of poems in the Has Doubts series, written by Alexander Velky.

The theme of this book is the relationship between nature and destiny, with a specific focus on mankind’s influence on its habitats and its social structures, and on the related propensity for mankind to conflate itself with men, as illustrated in the frequent usage context of the word itself.

This book is scheduled for publication in spring 2021. You can read a few of the poems and watch a couple of video performances by following links from the contents list below.  You can order a copy of the book here.

  1. An apology
  2. Cantre’r Gwaelod: the ballad of the Sunken Hundred
  3. Fossils
  4. Taxonomy
  5. Spider
  6. Attitude: rampant
  7. Finally embracing my destiny
  8. Lots
  9. Thoughts on a Monday morning
  10. Natural law of diminishing returns
  11. In the Men’s Room: I
  12. Spending more time with my family
  13. Wearing pink
  14. Self-aping
  15. Flawed nature, perfect destiny
  16. A discussion overheard between three hens
  17. Tractors turning
  18. Civilization schmivilization
  19. The blood sommelier
  20. George Monbiot’s agricultural policy
  21. New story idea
  22. In the Men’s Room: II
  23. The will
  24. Stopped by a commercial Sitka spruce plantation on a snowy evening
  25. Twitching tetraptych
  26. Big American fridge
  27. The heel
  28. The skraeling
  29. Daddy
  30. Altes Schloss selfie
  31. My bloody chamber
  32. In the Men’s Room: III

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *